Lovers & Haters

Most people today tend to think all love is good and all hate is bad. Haters are just horrible people. Haters be hatin’, and we be hatin’ the haters hatin’. Love, on the other hand, is good. Love conquers all, love outranks all, love justifies all.

That’s stupid.

If you love anything, you will hate to see it misused, abused, or corrupted. If you love anything, you have to take a stand for it, and hate that which threatens it. Want some examples?

I love romance, love, marriage, happy families. I hate divorce, cheating, calloused idiots, and breakups.

I love kids. I hate people that abuse and murder them. I hate abortion.

I love Christ. I hate to see his name misused.

I love the Church. I hate those who slander her and seek her destruction.

I love my family. I hate to see them in trouble.

I love my friends. I hate the things that make their lives miserable.

I love my country. I hate the sins that are steering it towards destruction.

Love is not a good thing in and of itself. Love is only good if you love something good. Gamblers love to gamble, druggies love the drug, and every sinner loves his sin. Love is also only good if you love something rightly. Stalin loved his communist utopia more than the lives and livelihoods of millions of people, and they paid for his misplaced love.

Nor is hate bad if you hate the right thing. Christ hates sin and the curse that comes with it. William Wilberforce hated the slave trade, and ended it for the entire British Empire. Imagine if we hated abortion, poverty, or the sex trade that much.

Hate is just love’s defense strategy, and anyone who refuses to hate what is evil is missing something. Take a look at these verses.

“Let those who love the LORD hate evil, for he guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.” Psalm 97:10

“Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.” Romans 12:9

Sincere love, love of the Lord, requires that we hate evil. Ponder that. It’s a lesson the Church today would be good to learn.

Leave a Reply

